2.500 km in 5 days šŸš˜

How I met my first 20 backers

Good morning!

1 month ago, 100 of you got a fresh pair of Modifox.

Time for me to get some feedback?

Now, I didnā€™t want to just call or text. You get enough of that.

But when was the last time you got a surprise visit? Thought so.

Thatā€™s why I traveled 2.500 km in 5 days to see you. 

nothing like a roadtrip

But first: Hello to 231 New Subscribers šŸ™‹šŸ»ā€ā™‚ļø

Fun fact: My website and newsletter are not yet connecteced.

Meaning, I import every new subscriber by hand. ā†’ selbst & stƤndig

I didnā€™t do that for a while and casually checked the numbers this morning.

Turns out, since Business Insider featured us, we became a whole lot bigger!

Wait ā€¦ You met clients? In private?

Some of you found this unreasonable. So hereā€™s why I did it šŸ‘‡šŸ»

  1. If it wasnā€™t for the Early Backers 6 months ago, Modifox might not be here today. I wanted to thank you for that - face to face.

  2. Your feedback is priceless. Our shoes are now worn by over 100 people. And I needed to know how that was going - in all detail.

That made me drive over 2.500 km on European highways.

somewhere in East Germany

25 clients in 120 hours

With 6-8 hours of driving per day, I thought that was doable.

But I didnā€™t set a time limit per meeting. I was there to talk, so why would I cut short any conversation?

What I didnā€™t know: Almost everyone invited me in for a chat. What I thought could be a doorbell ring with no answer, turned into hour-long conversations.

how we roll

Day 1 | Cologne

Gladly, the first 10 hours, didnā€™t feel much like traveling. Many of you were friends and friends of friends.

So I drove around places no further then 20km from my home.

On the way, I met people for:

  • 1 couchsitting

  • 1 garden cake

  • 1 roadside chat to pick up someoneā€™s daughter from school

first pitstop

Day 2 | Stuttgart

The next morning, I got going towards Stuttgart and the beautiful area of ā€˜SchwƤbisch GmĆ¼ndā€™.

Here, I had my longest talk in a garden of 2 clients.

What started as a friendly chat, turned into a Tupperware Party, as I ended up selling shoes out of my carā€™s trunk.

peaceful Schwabenland

I got on the road towards Switzerland when it was already late. My next backer texted me, saying that he worked night shifts and needed rest during the day.

To be honest, I wasnā€™t too disappointed.

It would have taken me forever to get there. Instead, I took a hard left turn and headed for Munich.

Day 3 | Munich

After couch-surfing at a friendā€™s place, I spent the next morning going around town. Here I met 3 more amazing people.

and a fellow founder

Finally, I also got my first critical feedback. The moment I had been waiting for! This client liked our concept. But to her, the shoes were just not cutting it.

To make things worse, I wore a shirt that wasnā€™t ironed (see above) and made for an unprofessional look. A fact, she happily pointed out to me šŸ˜…

Next up, I passed by Leipzig. To meet a study mate, who I had barely spoken to since introduction week.

I remembered the name vaguely, but was amazed that it was actually her.

Around 8PM I arrived in Berlin for my final backer's visit. Him I met during a Vegan Trade Fair 6 months prior šŸŒ±

Not only was he happy to talk to me, he insisted on doing so in front of the camera.

critical thinking

Day 4 | Berlin

Sadly, this day began without my partner in crime ā€¦

I had to leave Cuba with my mother in law, but knew she was happy not being stuck in the car with me anymore.

bye bye šŸ¦Š

Continuing alone, I met 4 more backers from the larger Berlin area.

1 of them wasnā€™t home when I knocked. My first no-show in 4 days! šŸš€

I gave her neighbour a gift and drove to Hamburg, where I met a person who had backed over 80 Kickstarter projects.

According to him, 50% of the campaigns he supported never made it to production.

I was glad to be on the other side of the spectrum šŸ‘Ÿ

the free and hanseatic city

My last stop in Germany was 1h south of Hamburg. I was greeted by a family with a passion for Caravans.

The next 2 hours, we spent talking about our camping experiences, the current state of footwear and the lack of something thatā€™s easy to wear in and out.

Modifox goes camping? šŸ¤”

Day 5 | Amsterdam

At 2:30AM I arrived in Amsterdam. Friends had offered me to crash at their place, but I didnā€™t feel good calling up anyone at night.

Plus, I was secretely excited to sleep in the back of my car for at least 1 time. Because whatā€™s more roadtrip then that?

Parked up close to the port, I got a good 4 hour nap in fetal position šŸŒ™

5 star sleep

At 7:00AM - half awake half asleep - I went on to meet ā€¦

  • a Dutch friend who lives on a house boat at the Amsterdam Marina

  • a former colleague working at The Social Hub Central

  • a friendā€™s friend from the city of Eindhoven

home away from home

I tried crossing to Belgium next and see a client from Turnhout. It should have marked the 4th and final country, but traffic had other plans šŸšš

Instead, I had to return to Cologne where I met Mohammed from Neak.One. In 24 hours, he had customised an order that was to be shipped to Malta that day.

ā€˜your shoes are readyā€™

I try not to advertise over here, but his service blew me away.

After realising that the DHL Express Hub was closed, he called up a friend and together with me drove to another post shop.

At 11PM I got home from my #EuropeFeedbackTour

Finally. But I didnā€™t rest for long. 3 hours later, I went into marine mode and left for Mallorca. Thatā€™s a different story.

First, it is about disecting your feedback. I promise, that your words will directly impact Modifoxā€™ next steps šŸ¾

Together, we will make footwear more convenient then ever.

Until then,
Devin

 

PS: Remember when I looked for a co-founder last time we spoke?
Since then, I got over 100 applications from Germany and beyond šŸ¤Æ
I still have to catch up with everyone, and I will.
Thanks for helping me spread the message!